//
you're reading...
Archive 2011, Archive 2013

The Alice Project

What’s in a name?

Marina Jurjevic has decided to find out in her very own way. An Art student at UAL she is in fact preparing her final year project based on the name Alice, using video, photography, performance and installation.She contacted me asking if I was interested in taking part in the project as she needed subjects called Alice to photograph. Intrigued, I accepted.

I decided to follow the development of her project and to collect pictures showing the ย behind the scenes of the art project.

Often when we look at ‘art’ we only see the final product of the artist’s creative process. I would like to be able to document all the different stages through which an installation develops, thus giving a fuller understanding of what we see. After visiting the Ai Weiwei exhibition at Tate I came to think that especially in contemporary art the very process through which the artistic product is created is almost as important as the final product itself.

For the assignment, I decided to put together a very simple story showing the development of one of the photoshoots; as I was only allowed to use max 5 pictures, I have chosen those that I believe show the stages of the photoshoot best, although they are not those that I prefer. I include some of the other pictures in the slideshow.

The studio is set.

 

Marina and Alice discuss how they want portray ‘Alice’.

 

The portrait is taken.

 

Marina and Alice discuss which pictures they prefer.

 

(My) final portrait.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Discussion

One thought on “The Alice Project

  1. Hi Alice,

    Well done ๐Ÿ™‚

    super ๐Ÿ™‚

    Marina ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    Posted by Marina | April 19, 2011, 8:40 pm

Tell me what you think

