//
you're reading...
Archive 2012, Archive 2013

Things so far and my final project…

It’s been at least two months since I have taken any photo. And by that I mean serious photos, not just the odd photo here and there. It’s been two months since I have updated the blog; I did not have much to say, as far as photography was concerned. I have just had other things going through my mind.

I flew home back to Italy as soon as I could in June. It had been more than a year since I had seen everyone; grandad’s condition had deteriorated and I really needed to take a breath. I brought my two cameras and yet I didn’t take any photos. I really didn’t feel like it. The only thing I did was to play around with an old kaleidoscope that I attached to the lens to see what happened…

It’s been a month since I’ve been back, and quite a lot has happened.

First of all I started dieting, as my health was deteriorating as a result of some seriously bad eating habits and I have now been running every day for a month. I am happy to say I have lost almost two dress sizes and generally feel a lot better.

Better still I started training for Parkour again and this time I don’t want to stop. I workout every morning for an hour and a half down at the Heygate and I have booked a couple of outdoor lessons with Parkour Generation to learn a few more tricks.

I have been accepted to give a talk to the Crowd and Cloud conference in September. I’m preparing supposed to prepare my presentation for the 31st of July, which I’m definitely going to do in the next couple of days.

I have been promoted at work and I am now in the last stages of my Shift Manager training at McDonald’s – an absolute waste of time as far as the course is concerned. I need to get down to Brixton every Monday afternoon, I have home-works and three books to complete but at least I get paid a little bit more.

On a more positive note, I have finally started volunteering in Tate Modern as a Visitor Host and now that the Tanks have opened I volunteer every Friday and Monday morning. I still cannot believe that I managed to get into volunteering at Tate. I have been looking for volunteering opportunities, internships and god-knows-what for so long to get some experience in this kind of environment, I never expected to find something so close to home in the place I love so much. It’s been almost a year since I have completed my Tate Modern project, I would have never dreamed to be able to be part of it. I guess we never know what the future holds for us.

As far as University is concerned, it is now time for us to prepare our final project.
I’ve been thinking about it for quite a while and I have often felt really down. I seem to have lost the interest in pursuing anything documentary in favour of more artistic ideas; I seem to lack curiosity and I don’t know why. I think I find it hard to carry on and develop a project long term. Maybe I haven’t found something that really takes me. I loved my caffenol project and I think I’d been happy to carry on with that but I didn’t get much positive feedback from the course from my last assignment and now I feel I need to find something else.

One of my options for the final projects was to go and take portraits of the crew in McDonald at the Olympic park; I’ve been in touch with the relevant people but I have been told that access to the Olympic park is really restricted and that I am too late to apply – I should have applied for access before April to give everyone enough time to probe me and make sure I am not a terrorist, so that idea has been discarded…

Now I’m kinda stuck as to what I am going to do. I would love to go back to photographing abandoned places; I loved to do that and I believe I was good at it. In my opinion those photos I took of the derelict factories are still my best, and two years down the line, I am not sure that is a good sign. I tried to get in touch with a few urban explorers but at the end of the day that’s very much an underground world and I am really isolated in that respect. I wish I had the means to get out of London and see different places; get in the car and drive away, stop whenever I see something I fancy – that’s how I used to do it before… I don’t want obstacles to bind me, Parkour teaches me, but I am still trying to find my way around them.

I am probably confused as to what I want to achieve, I seem to be running around in circle.

Funnily enough I have been having strange dreams last night about my final project.
I dreamed that I was in Brixton and I had found a scrapbook in the street and started filling it with all sorts of snapshots taken in the streets. Maybe I should walk down there someday…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Tell me what you think

